إدراج النوع الاجتماعي للأشخاص والأمن ضمن التكيُّف مع التغيُّر المناخي: مبادئ للنجاح

يختبر الرجال والنساء والفتيان والفتيات التغيُّر المناخي والسلام والأمن بطرق مختلفة. فتؤدي المعايير والتوقعات والأدوار الجندرية الراسخة إلى تأثيرات مختلفة وتشكّل آليات تكيُّف وتأقلم مختلفة لدى مختلف الأجناس أو الأجيال أو الأعراق أو الأديان أو الكفاءات أو الميول الجنسية. وإنّ تجاهُل هذه الديناميات يهدّد بخلق مظاهر ضعف جديدة كما ومضاعفة التفاوتات القائمة.

ولكي تستوفي الحلول الغرض خير استيفاء، يجب أن ترتكز الحلول المستدامة والخاضعةللتهديدات الأمنية الناشئة عن شدّة الظروف المناخية على ديناميات كل سياق والاحتياجات والرؤى الفريدة للأشخاص ذوي الهويات الاجتماعية المتنوّعة. وتُعدّ الاستفادة من المساهمات القيّمة لأصحاب المصلحة المتنوّعين ومن تصميم المبادرات وفقاً للتجارب المُعاشة مع التغيُّر المناخي وانعدام الأمن والنزاع أمراً بالغ الأهمية لجعل عمليتَيْ صنع القرار وتطوير الاستراتيجيات الخاصّة بالتّكيُّف مع التغيُّر المناخي ذات طابع مستديم.

تستند هذه المذكّرة التوجيهية إلى سلسلة من المشاركات والبحوث التي أُجريت في ميانمار ومالي ولبنان والأردن وهي تناولت الوضع الحالي لبرامج وسياسات التكيُّف مع التغيُّر المناخي، ومدى إدماجها للنوع الاجتماعي والأمن. وهي تقدّم ستة مبادئ واستجابات يمكن أن تدعم الجهات المانحة والخبراء في المجال على الصعيد العالمي في إدراج النزاع والنوع الاجتماعي ضمن برامج التكيُّف مع التغيُّر المناخي بشكل أفضل.

إنقر هنا للتحميل

Integrating gender and security in climate adaptation: Principles for success

Men and women, and boys and girls, experience climate change, peace and security in different ways. Deeply rooted gender norms, expectations and roles lead to different impacts and shape differential coping and adaptation mechanisms for different genders, generations, ethnicities, religions, abilities or sexual orientations. Ignoring these dynamics risks creating new vulnerabilities and reinforcing existing inequalities.

To be truly fit for purpose, sustainable and context-specific solutions to security threats deriving from climate stress must be grounded in the dynamics of each context and the unique needs and insights of people in their varied social identities. Harnessing the valuable contributions of diverse stakeholders and tailoring initiatives to lived experiences of climate change, insecurity and conflict is critical to making climate adaptation decision-making and strategy development sustainable.

This guidance note builds on a series of engagements and research conducted in Myanmar, Mali, Lebanon and Jordan into the current state of climate adaptation programmes and policies, and the extent to which they integrate gender and security. It offers six principles and responses that can support donors and practitioners globally to better integrate conflict and gender into climate adaptation programming.

Read the guidance note here

The guidance note is also available in Arabic and French.

Join us at London Climate Action Week 2021!

Are you designing climate adaptation programmes in fragile and conflict-affected states? Join our roundtable event with Chatham House to discuss how conflict and gender analyses can support successful adaptation to the climate crisis on Monday 27 June, 10 am BST.

Sign up