الحوكمة

الهيكلية والحوكمة والإدارة 

الهيكلية التنظيمية 

الهيكلية التنظيمية 

إنترناشونال ألرت هي منظمة غير حكومية مقرّها المملكة المتحدة، وهي مسجَّلة في مجلس الشركات ولجنة المؤسسات الخيرية. والمؤسسة الخيرية هي شركة محدودة بضمان وليس لها رأس مال. نحن نخضع إلى مجلس أمناء (المجلس). ويضم المجلس لجنة فرعية، هي لجنة الاستراتيجية والمخاطر ومراجعة الحسابات والتي تقدم المشورة بشأن مسائل الاستراتيجية التنظيمية وإدارة المخاطر وعمليات التدقيق ذات الصلة وتراقبها. وتتألف اللجنة المذكورة من الرئيس وأمين الخزانة واثنَيْن من الأمناء الآخرين. في العام 2020، أعدنا هيكلة فريق الإدارة العليا لدينا ليصبح فريقاً تنفيذياً وأسندنا له مسؤولية القيادة الاستراتيجية والتشغيلية للمنظمة. ويتألف الفريق التنفيذي من الرئيس التنفيذي ومدير البرامج ومدير المالية والعمليات ومدير تطوير الموارد ومدير السياسات والمناصرة والاتصالات. 

تضم المنظمة 230 موظفاً يعملون في مكاتبنا الـ 14 المنتشرة حول العالم، بما في ذلك فريق من الخبراء في مجال بناء السلام المواضيعي. ويتم دعم عمل البرامج من قِبَل فرق إدارية ومالية وفرق معنيّة بجمع الأموال والموارد البشرية وتكنولوجيا المعلومات والمناصرة والاتصالات. 

ترتبط منظمة إنترناشونال ألرت قسم المملكة المتحدة بمنظمة إنترناشونال ألرت قسم أوروبا، وهي مسجَّلة كمؤسسة مدمجة (مؤسسة) في لاهاي في هولندا. 

صنع القرار 

يجتمع المجلس أربع مرات في السنة وهو مسؤول عن الحوكمة ووضع الإطار الاستراتيجي للمنظمة والأهداف السنوية لها والموافقة على الميزانية السنوية. والأمناء هم مديرو المنظمة لأغراض إنفاذ قانون الشركة، وتماشياً مع هذه المسؤولية، هم يشرفون على إعداد التقارير المالية ويضمنون إعداد البيانات المالية السليمة لكل سنة مالية لإعطاء رؤية حقيقية وعادلة للنشاطات المالية للمنظمة ووضعها المالي في نهاية السنة. وتجتمع لجنة الاستراتيجية والمخاطر ومراجعة الحسابات على أساس ربع سنوي وهي اللجنة الرئيسية التابعة للمجلس. فقد تم تكليف اللجنة بمراقبة أكثر تفصيلاً للمجالات الرئيسية التي تعمل المؤسسة الخيرية ضمنها، بما في ذلك الشؤون المالية وكل المسائل المتعلقة بالميزانية والمخاطر والأمن والاستراتيجية التنظيمية. ويكون الرئيس التنفيذي مسؤولاً أمام المجلس عن كل أعمال المنظمة وعن الأعضاء الآخرين في الفريق التنفيذي. ويرفع الفريق التنفيذي تقارير في كل اجتماع للمجلس واللجنة حول عمل المنظمة ونشاطاتها وتمويلها، ويعرض التقدُّم المحرَز فيما يتعلق بالميزانية والأهداف السنوية والإطار الاستراتيجي. 

مجلس الأمناء 

قد يتألّف المجلس من ثلاثة أعضاء إلى 15 عضواً؛ لدينا حالياً تسعة أمناء. ويكون المجلس دولياً ليعكس تنوُّع عمل المنظمة. ويتم انتخاب الأمناء الجدد خلال الاجتماع السنوي العام أو من قِبَل المجلس خلال اجتماع عادي، وهم يشغلون هذا المنصب لمدة ثلاث سنوات. ويجوز إعادة انتخاب الأمناء لفترة أخرى مدتها ثلاث سنوات. وقبل اتخاذ قرار بتعيين عضو مجلس أمناء، يتم ترتيب اجتماعات لهذا العضو الجديد المحتمل مع الرئيس التنفيذي ومع واحد أو اثنَيْن من كبار أعضاء المجلس، ويضم الاجتماع رئيس المجلس عادةً. وعند التعيين، يتلقى الأمناء الجدد تعريفاً كاملاً بمسؤولياتهم بموجب قانون الشركات وقانون المؤسسات الخيرية وتعريفاً كاملاً بالمنظمة. وتتضمن العملية الاطلاع على حزمة من الوثائق ذات الصلة وحضور سلسلة من الاجتماعات مع الإدارة العليا والمتوسطة. خلال العام 2020، أكمل ثلاثة أمناء فترة عملهم أو استقالوا، وانضم ثلاثة أمناء جدد إلى المجلس. وقد ختمنا العام 2020 بإجمالي تسعة أمناء (خمس نساء وأربعة رجال)، خمسة منهم يقيمون خارج المملكة المتحدة. 

أمناؤنا 

يتمتع كل عضو من أعضاء المجلس في منظمتنا باهتمام خاص وخبرة معينة في القضايا المتعلقة بالنزاع وبناء السلام. 

كاري كافانو (الرئيس) 

كاري كافانو هو أكاديمي ودبلوماسي أميركي بارع ووسيط سلام، وهو ناشط منذ عقود في مجال بناء السلام الدولي. هو يعمل حالياً أستاذاً محاضراً في جامعة كنتاكي في مجالَيْ الدبلوماسية وحل النزاعات. وقد امتدت مسيرته المهنية الدبلوماسية على مدى 22 عاماً وهي ركزت على الحد من التسلح والقضايا الإنسانية والسلام. وتخلّل هذه المسيرة الالتحاق بالتعيينات في برلين وموسكو وتبليسي وروما وبرن، بالإضافة إلى تولي مهام في وزارة الخارجية الأميركية والبنتاغون والكابيتول هيل. وفي عهد الرئيسَيْن بيل كلينتون وجورج دبليو بوش، ساعد كاري في دفع جهود السلام التي شملت أرمينيا وأذربيجان وقبرص وجورجيا واليونان ومولدوفا وطاجيكستان وتركيا. وقد شغل منصب سفير ومفاوض خاص بشأن النزاعات في ناغورنو كاراباخ والمنطقة الأوروبية-الآسيوية في أيار/مايو من العام 2000 بإيعاز من مجلس الشيوخ الأميركي. ومنذ ترك الخدمة الحكومية، ظل كاري منخرطاً في نشاطات حل النزاعات وبناء السلام، فعمل مع المنظمات غير الحكومية الأوروبية الرائدة على مبادرات صدرت عن المجتمع المدني وقام بجهود دبلوماسية تخدم “المسار الثاني”. ومن العام 2014 إلى العام 2018، كان أحد أمناء شركة “موارد المصالحة”Conciliation Resources. تفضل بزيارة موقع كاري على الويب على www.careycavanaugh.com

ريتشارد لانجستاف (أمين الصندوق الفخري) 

ريتشارد هو رجل أعمال دولي متمرّس. وهو حائز على درجات علمية من جامعة رايس وجامعة كنتاكي وجامعة دنفر ومدرسة الدراسات الشرقية والإفريقية في لندن. 

هانز بولشر 

هانز بولشر هو أحد كبار المستشارين في مجال المناخ والطاقة والتنمية. بدأ مسيرته المهنية مع منظمة أطباء بلا حدود في السودان وأوغندا ليشغل لاحقاً منصب مدير أول مبادرة لتوسيم التجارة العادلة، ماكس هافيلار في هولندا، حيث عمل في العديد من البلدان في إفريقيا وآسيا وأميركا اللاتينية. وبصفته مدير سابق في الحكومة الهولندية (أولاً للهجرة ولاحقاً للمناخ والصناعة)، شارك بعمق في المناقشات الدولية حول المناخ وتجارة المواد الخام الدولية. ويركز هانز بشكل واضح على دور الأعمال في التنمية، بالإضافة إلى الجوانب الاقتصادية والمالية للمساعدات والتجارة. وإلى جانب عمله الاستشاري، فهو أيضاً رئيس (غير تنفيذي) لمجلس الإدارة في العديد من الشركات الخضراء ورئيس صندوق استثمار في الطاقة المتجددة. 

أمينة بوزكورت 

شغلت أمينة عدة مناصب قيادية عليا. وقد تم تعيينها مؤخراً كرئيسة لفريق الخبراء رفيعي المستوى التابع للاتحاد الأوروبي والمعني بالمساواة بين الجنسَيْن في الرياضة، والذي سوف يقدّم مقترحات بشأن المساواة بين الجنسَيْن في الرياضة إلى المفوضية الأوروبية والدول الأعضاء والحركة الرياضية. وكرئيسة لمجلس إدارة المعهد الدولي للديمقراطية والمساعدة الانتخابية في السويد، كانت جزءاً من قيادة منظمة حكومية دولية معنية بالديمقراطية العالمية تعمل في كل أنحاء العالم. وكعضو سابق في البرلمان الأوروبي (2004-2014) ممثِّلةً هولندا، عملت أمينة في مجال حقوق الإنسان والديمقراطية والعلاقات الدولية. فكانت رئيسة وفد البرلمان الأوروبي لتعزيز العلاقات مع دول أميركا الوسطى. وبصفتها مدافعة شغوفة عن حقوق الإنسان، تم تعيينها رئيسة للمجموعة المشتركة بين الأحزاب المناهضة للعنصرية والمناصرة للتنوع في البرلمان الأوروبي. وفي العام 2014، منحها جلالة ملك هولندا وساماً برتبة فارس في إمارة أورانج نساو. 

كريس ديري 

كريس ديري هو رجل أعمال أميركي ومستشار يشغل حالياً منصب رئيس Teneo Digital. قاد كريس أعمالاً عبر أسواق متعددة؛ وقد قدم الاستشارات لشركات Fortune 500 في الولايات المتحدة وأوروبا وأميركا اللاتينية والشرق الأوسط وآسيا بشأن بعض أكثر القضايا تعقيداً التي واجهتها، بما في ذلك: الأزمات، والشراكات بين القطاعَيْن العام والخاص، والمسؤولية الاجتماعية للشركات، واستراتيجيات الاستدامة. كما قدم كريس المشورة للعديد من المنظمات غير الحكومية الدولية، بما فيها منظمة إنقاذ الطفولة (الولايات المتحدة) ومنظمة العفو الدولية، بشأن مشاركتهما مع الشركات والحكومات والمستثمرين المؤسسيين؛ وكان عضواً في مجتمعات مثل المنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي والقادة العالميون الشباب. انضم كريس إلى مجلس الأمناء في العام 2016. 

نينا فالنتين كاسبيرسن 

نينا هي أستاذة السياسة ورئيسة قسم في جامعة يورك في المملكة المتحدة. تركز أبحاثها على ديناميات النزاعات داخل الدول، وعمليات السلام واتفاقيات السلام، والحوكمة والاعتراف بالدولة. ويتصف بحثها بأنه مقارن بطبيعته، بل ركز الجزء الكبير منه على القوقاز والبلقان. أحدث كتب نشرتها نينا هو كتاب بعنوان: “اتفاقيات السلام: إيجاد حلول للنزاعات داخل الدول (بوليتي، 2017)” وكتاب آخر بعنوان: “الدول غير المعترف بها: النضال من أجل السيادة في ظل النظام الدولي الحديث (بوليتي، 2012)”. وهي حاصلة على درجة الدكتوراه في الدراسات الحكومية من كلية لندن للاقتصاد والعلوم السياسية. وهي في الأصل من كوبنهاغن، الدنمارك. 

عبير الحاج ابراهيم 

عبير هي واحدة من مؤسِّسي “مبادرون”، والبالغ عددهم إثنان. و”مبادرون” هي شبكة عربية للمجتمع المدني تضم حوالي 4000 ناشط اجتماعي وتقدم الاستشارات والتدريبات على مشاريع التنمية المجتمعية للمنظمات في سوريا. قبل ذلك، هي عملت في قطاع النفط في سوريا لصالح شركة “توتال”، لكن تجربتها خلال النزاع دفعتها إلى تكريس حياتها لدعم التعايش السلمي والحفاظ عليه. وهي الآن ميسِّرة في مجال بناء السلام وقد ساعدت في وضع برنامج سفراء السلام في مبادرون، والذي يقوم بتدريب ودعم دعاة السلام في سوريا. في العام 2014، مُنحت مؤسسة “مبادرون” جائزة ليفيا لدعمها اللاعنف. وعبير هي أيضاً المؤسس المشارك لـGlobally Connected، وهي شبكة تدعم وتبني الثقة والتفاهم بين السوريين في الشتات والمجتمعات المضيفة والسوريين في سوريا، وقد ساعدت مؤخراً في تأسيس شبكة الميسِّرين في العالم العربي. 

ليزا إل روز 

ليزا روز هي في الأصل من الولايات المتحدة وهي تعيش الآن في أيرلندا الشمالية. هي تعمل دولياً مع المجتمعات المهمشة في مجتمعات تمر بمرحلة نزاع وأخرى تعيش مرحلة ما بعد النزاع. تعمل ليزا في البلدان الأعضاء في مجلس أوروبا وكينيا ورواندا مع الحكومات الوطنية والمحلية والسياسيين وقوات الأمن والمجتمعات لمساعدتهم على أن يكونوا مسالمين أكثر وللتغلب على النزاعات بطرق غير عنيفة. اهتماماتها المتخصصة الأخرى هي دعم الشباب الذين يرزحون تحت وقائع اجتماعية أكثر صرامة من خلال تشجيع العمل المدني ومناصرة حقوق الإنسان، واستخدام الفنون كسبيل للتحاور من أجل بناء السلام. وهي أيضاً عضو في مجلس أمناء YouthBank International وBeyond Skin. وهي عضو في فريق الوسطاء ما وراء الحدود الدولية في كينيا ورواندا. وهي كذلك عضو في المجلس الاستشاري لمجموعة عمل المؤسسة الاجتماعية من أجل السلام التابعة للتحالف من أجل بناء السلام. 

إيرين سيجيليا تشيس 

تتمتع إيرين سيجيليا تشيس بخبرة دولية تزيد عن 25 عاماً في مجالات بناء السلام والعدالة الاجتماعية وحقوق الإنسان، وخاصةً في مجال التخطيط الاستراتيجي والسنوي، وتطوير مجلس الإدارة، وجمع الأموال. هي عملت كمديرة في مؤسسة Swarovski ومؤسسة Impetus للأسهم الخاصة، وعضو مجلس إدارة في منظمة “بذور السلام”، والمدير العالمي في Philanthropy للمجموعة الاستشارية Catalyst، من بين أدوار أخرى. وهي تشغل حالياً منصب المدير التنفيذي لجمع التبرعات والشراكات والاتصالات في منظمة كير الدولية. 

راعينا رئيس الأساقفة ديزموند توتو  

يُعتبر رئيس الأساقفة الفخري ديزموند توتو أحد أعظم الرموز الأخلاقية الحية في عصرنا. 

فقد كان لاعباً أساسياً في الكفاح ضد الفصل العنصري في جنوب إفريقيا ورئيس لجنة الحقيقة والمصالحة، وفي العام 1984، حصل على جائزة نوبل للسلام. 

من عمله ضد الفصل العنصري في جنوب إفريقيا، إلى مناصرته للديمقراطية والحرية وحقوق الإنسان – بما في ذلك حقوق أولئك الذين ما زالوا يعيشون في ظل ويلات العنصرية وكراهية الأجانب وكراهية المثليين – كان رئيس الأساقفة توتو بمثابة صوت الضمير لجيل كامل. 

عندما تقاعد رئيس الأساقفة توتو في العام 1996، قال نيلسون مانديلا لمَنْ حضروا عشاء تكريمه: 

“فرحته في تنوعنا وروحه المسامحة من جهة وشغفه بتحقيق العدالة ووقفته التضامنية مع الفقراء هما وجهان متساويان لمساهمته التي لا تُقاس لنصرة أمتنا”. 

وفي العام 2007، دعا رئيس الأساقفة توتو ونيلسون مانديلا وغراسا ماشيل إلى اجتماع كبار الأعيان )، وهم مجموعة من قادة العالم الذين يساهمون بنزاهتهم وقيادتهم في التعامل مع بعض أكثر مشاكل العالم إلحاحاً. ويُعَدّ رئيس الأساقفة توتو اليوم أحد كبار الأعيان الفخريين، بعد أن شغل منصب رئيس لمدة ست سنوات، وهو يواصل العمل بنشاط في عدد من المجالات المرتبطة بحقوق الإنسان. 

شارك رئيس الأساقفة توتو في العمل الذي أدى إلى تأسيس منظمة إنترناشونال ألرت في العام 1986 وكان أول نائب لرئيس مجلس أمنائنا. وعن دوره كراعٍ لنا، يقول: 

“إنّ حاجتنا جميعاً لمواصلة الكفاح من أجل السلام أعظم من أي وقت مضى. أنا فخور جداً بكوني راعياً لمنظمة إنترناشونال ألرت فيما تواصل بناء السلام في كل أنحاء العالم”. 

“إن سجل المنظمة الحافل بمسيرة عمل انطبعت بالشجاعة والرحمة لبعث الأمل في النفوس ضمن المجتمعات المضطربة لا يُقدَّر بثمن، بدءاً من وقفتها بجانب الروانديين في أعقاب الإبادة الجماعية، وانتهاءً بدعمها للشباب السوري اليوم. فهي لا تكفّ تبني وتتحدى وتُلهم”. 

“فهي جزء من شبكة عالمية تسعى وراء تحقيق الخير، ويتردد صدى أعمالها في قرى جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية كما في أروقة الأمم المتحدة.”

Governance

Structure, governance and management

Organisational structure

International Alert is a UK-based NGO, registered with Companies House and the Charities Commission. The charity is a company limited by guarantee and has no share capital. We are governed by a Board of Trustees (Board). The Board has a sub-committee, the Strategy, Risk and Audit Committee (SRA), which advises on and monitors matters of organisational strategy, risk management and relevant audits. The SRA comprises the Chair, the Treasurer and two further trustees. In 2020, we restructured our Senior Management Team into an Executive Team, responsible for the strategic and operational leadership of the organisation. The Executive Team comprises the Executive Director, the Director of Programmes, the Director of Finance and Operations, the Director of Resource Development and the Director of Policy, Advocacy and Communications.

We have 230 staff based in our 14 offices around the world, including a team of thematic peacebuilding experts. The programmes’ work is supported by administrative, financial, fundraising, human resources, IT, and advocacy and communications teams.

International Alert UK is affiliated with International Alert Europe, which is registered as a Stichting (foundation) in The Hague, the Netherlands.

Decision-making

The Board meets four times a year and is responsible for governance, establishing the organisation’s strategic framework and annual objectives, and agreeing on the annual budget. The trustees are directors of the organisation for the purposes of company law and, in line with that responsibility, oversee the financial reporting and ensure that proper financial statements are made for each financial year to give a true and fair view of the organisation’s financial activities and its financial position at the year-end. The SRA meets on a quarterly basis and is the key committee of the Board. The SRA has been entrusted with the more detailed oversight of key areas of the charity, including finance and all budgetary issues, risk and security and organisational strategy. The Executive Director is accountable to the Board for all the organisation’s work, and the other members of the Executive Team report to the Executive Director. The Executive Team reports to each Board and SRA meeting on the organisation’s work, activities and finances, presenting progress in relation to the budget, annual objectives and strategic framework.

Board of Trustees

The Board may consist of three to 15 members; we currently have nine trustees. The Board is international, to reflect the diversity of the organisation’s work. New trustees are elected at the Annual General Meeting or by the Board at a regular meeting and serve for a period of three years. Trustees may be re-elected for one further term of three years. Before a decision is taken to appoint a trustee, meetings are arranged for the potential new trustee with the Executive Director and one or two senior Board members, normally including the Chair. On appointment, new trustees receive a full induction on their responsibilities under company law and charity law, and on the organisation. The process includes both a pack of relevant documentation and a series of meetings with senior and middle management. During 2020, three trustees either completed their term or resigned, and three new trustees joined the Board. We ended 2020 with a total of nine trustees (five women and four men), five of whom are based outside the UK.

Our trustees

Each of our board members have a specific interest and expertise in conflict-related issues and peacebuilding.

Carey Cavanaugh (Chair)

Carey Cavanaugh is an academic, an accomplished American diplomat and peace mediator, and has been active for decades in international peacebuilding. He is currently Professor of Diplomacy and Conflict Resolution at the University of Kentucky. He had a 22-year diplomatic career focused on arms control, humanitarian issues and peace. This included postings to Berlin, Moscow, Tbilisi, Rome and Bern, as well as assignments in the State Department, Pentagon and on Capitol Hill. Under presidents Bill Clinton and George W. Bush, Carey helped advance peace efforts involving Armenia, Azerbaijan, Cyprus, Georgia, Greece, Moldova, Tajikistan and Turkey. He was confirmed by the US Senate as Ambassador and Special Negotiator for Nagorno-Karabakh and Eurasian Conflicts in May 2000. Since leaving government service, Carey has remained engaged in conflict resolution and peacebuilding activities, working with leading European NGOs on civil society initiatives and track-two diplomatic efforts. From 2014 to 2018, he was a trustee of Conciliation Resources. Visit Carey’s website at www.careycavanaugh.com.

Richard Langstaff (Honorary Treasurer)

Richard Langstaff is an experienced international entrepreneur. He holds degrees from Rice University, the University of Kentucky, the University of Denver and SOAS University of London.

Hans Bolscher

Hans Bolscher is a senior adviser in the field of climate, energy and development. He started his career with Médecins Sans Frontières in Sudan and Uganda and was later director for the first fair trade labelling initiative, Max Havelaar in the Netherlands, working in many countries in Africa, Asia and Latin America. As a former director at the Dutch government (first for immigration and later for climate and industry), he was deeply involved in the international discussions on climate and international raw materials trade. Hans has a clear focus on the role of business in development as well as economic and financial aspects of aid and trade. Next to his advisory work, he is also (non-executive) Chair of the Board in several green companies and head of a renewable energy investment fund.

Emine Bozkurt

Emine Bozkurt has held several senior leadership roles. She was recently appointed Chair of the EU High Level Expert Group on Gender Equality in Sport, which will make proposals on gender equality in sport to the European Commission, member states and the sporting movement. As Chair of the Board of the International Institute for Democracy and Electoral Assistance in Sweden, she was part of the leadership of an intergovernmental organisation on global democracy working worldwide. As a former Member of the European Parliament (2004–2014) representing the Netherlands, Emine worked on human rights, democracy and international relations. She was Chair of the European Parliament’s delegation for the relations with the countries in Central America. A passionate advocate of human rights, she was appointed Chairwoman of the cross-party Anti-Racism and Diversity Intergroup of the European Parliament. In 2014 she was appointed by His Majesty the King of the Netherlands, Knight in the Order of Orange-Nassau.

Chris Deri

Chris Deri is an American businessperson and advisor who currently serves as President of Teneo Digital. Chris has led businesses across multiple markets; and he has advised Fortune 500 companies in the US, Europe, Latin America, the Middle East and Asia on some of their most complex issues, including crises, public-private partnerships, corporate and social responsibility and sustainability strategies. Chris has also advised several international NGOs, including Save the Children (US) and Amnesty International, on their engagement with business, governments and institutional investors; and he has been a member of communities such as the World Economic Forum Young Global Leaders. Chris joined the Board of Trustees in 2016.

Nina Fallentin Caspersen

Nina Fallentin Caspersen is Professor of Politics and Head of Department at the University of York in the UK. Her research focuses on the dynamics of intra-state conflicts, peace processes and peace agreements, governance and state recognition. Her research is comparative in nature, but much of it has been focused on the Caucasus and the Balkans. Nina’s most recent books are Peace Agreements: Finding Solutions to Intra-state Conflicts (Polity, 2017) and Unrecognized States: The Struggle for Sovereignty in the Modern International System (Polity, 2012). She holds a PhD in Government from the London School of Economics and Political Science. She is originally from Copenhagen, Denmark.

Abir Haj Ibrahim

Abir Haj Ibrahim is one of the two co-founders of Mobaderoon, an Arab civil society network of some 4,000 social activists that advises and trains community development projects and organisations in Syria. Prior to this, she worked in the oil sector in Syria, for Total, but her experience during the conflict led her to dedicate her life to supporting and sustaining peaceful coexistence. She is now a peacebuilding facilitator and helped establish Mobaderoon’s Peace Ambassador programme, which trains and supports peace advocates in Syria. In 2014, Mobaderoon was awarded the Livia prize for its support of non-violence. Abir is also the co-founder of Globally Connected, a network supporting and building trust and understanding between the Syrian diaspora, host communities and Syrians in Syria, and she recently helped found the Arab World Facilitators Network.

Lisa L. Rose

Lisa Rose is originally from the United States and now lives in Northern Ireland. She works internationally with marginalised communities in conflict and post-conflict societies. Lisa works in Council of Europe countries, Kenya and Rwanda engaging with national and local governments, politicians, security forces and communities to assist them to be more peaceable and to navigate conflicts in non-violent ways. Her other specialist interests are supporting young people from tougher social realities by encouraging civic action and human rights-based advocacy and using the arts as a dialogue for peacebuilding. She also serves as a trustee on the boards of YouthBank International and Beyond Skin; is a Mediators Beyond Borders International Kenya and Rwanda team member, and is also an advisory board member for the Alliance for Peacebuilding’s Social Enterprise for Peace Working Group.

Erin Segilia Chase

Erin Segilia Chase has over 25 years international experience in peacebuilding, social justice and human rights, with a focus on strategic and annual planning, board development, and fundraising. She has served as Director at Swarovski Foundation and Impetus Private Equity Foundation, Board member at Seeds for Peace, Global Director at the Philanthropy for the Catalyst Consulting Group, among other roles. She is currently the Executive Director for Fundraising, Partnerships and Communications at CARE International.

Our patron Archbishop Desmond Tutu

Archbishop Emeritus Desmond Tutu is one of the greatest living moral icons of our time.

He was a key player in the fight against apartheid in South Africa and the chair of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission, and in 1984 was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize.

From his work against apartheid in South Africa to his championing of democracy, freedom and human rights – including for those still living under the scourge of racism, xenophobia and homophobia – Archbishop Tutu has served as the vocal conscience of a generation.

When Archbishop Tutu retired in 1996, Nelson Mandela told those at a dinner to honour him:

His joy in our diversity and his spirit of forgiveness are as much part of his immeasurable contribution to our nation as his passion for justice and his solidarity with the poor.

In 2007 Archbishop Tutu, Nelson Mandela and Graça Machel convened The Elders, a group of world leaders who contribute their integrity and leadership in dealing with some of the world’s most pressing problems. Archbishop Tutu is now an Honorary Elder, having served as chairman for six years, and continues to work energetically in a number of areas of human rights.

Archbishop Tutu was involved in the work which led to International Alert’s founding in 1986 and was the first Vice-Chairman of our Board of Trustees. On his role as our patron he says:

The need for us all to continue the fight for peace has never been greater. I am very proud to be International Alert’s patron as they continue to build peace around the world.

Their track record of working with courage and compassion to inspire hope in troubled communities is invaluable. From holding hands with Rwandans in the aftermath of genocide, to supporting young Syrians today. Always building, always challenging, always inspiring.

They are part of a global network for good, extending from the villages of DRC to the corridors of the United Nations.