تصوُّر لبنان جديد والتنازع حول تحقيقه؟

الجهات الفاعلة والقضايا والديناميات التي أعقبت إحتجاجات تشرين الأوّل

يقدّم هذا التقرير تحلياً يلتقط لمحة من الزمن ب ن تشرين الأوّل/أكتوبر 2019 وشباط/فبراير 2020 في لبنان.

فهو يستعرض موجزاً عن الأسباب الرئيسية للتوتّرات المرتبِطة بتصوّرات وتجارب الفئات الإجتماعية والجهات الفاعلة السياسية الرئيسية، وعلاقاتهما مع بعضهما البعض، والديناميات الأساسية التي قد تشكّل مداخل للمشاركة وتعمّق فَهْم الديناميات المستجدّة في أعقاب الإحتجاجات الشعبية الحاشدة التي بدأت في شهر تشرين الأوّل/أكتوبر 2019 . وقد تمّ إجراء التحليل بهدف دعم المنظمات في التخطيط والتصميم لتدخّات بناء السام والتنمية في أعقاب هذه الإحتجاجات.

تمّ جمع البيانات وتحليلها قبل وقوع حدثَيْن رئيسيَيْن في لبنان: تفشّي فروس كورونا COVID-19 وإجراءات الإقفال اللاحقة التي بدأت في 15 آذار/مارس؛ ومن ثمّ الإنفجار الضخم الذي وقع في مرفأ بروت في 4 آب/أغسطس. وقد كانت لكلا التطوّرَيْن تداعيات واسعة النطاق على السياق في البلد وإنعكاسات مهمة على التوقّعات التي طُرِحت في التحليل وعلى بناء السام عموم .ً

نظراً إلى توقيت جمع البيانات، لم يتمّ البحث في هاذَيْن التطوّرَيْن الرئيسيَيْن في هذا التقرير. فالظروف تتغيّر بسرعة، والديناميات تتطوّر، وتظهر مخاطر جديدة. وفي الوقت نفسه، تتكشّف أيض الفرص لدعم المبادرات المجتمعية وجهود التضامن، وبناء )إعادة بناء( الروابط الإجتماعية، ودعم الإصاح. وبالتالي، لا تزال القضايا والديناميات الواردة في هذا التقرير ذات صلة اليوم.

على ضوء ذلك، يفيد أن يُنظَر إلى هذا التقرير على أنّه تحليل لمدى تأثر القضايا السياسية والإقتصادية والإجتماعية والبيئية الطويلة المدى والأساسية على الديناميات الناشئة التي تطوّرت منذ تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2019 ، لتشكّل السياق الجديد وتوجّهه.

سوف يُستتبَع هذا التقرير بتحليل مُحدَّث للسياق يبني على بعض النتائج الرئيسية الواردة في هذا البحث ويطوّرها بشكل أك ر ويدقّق بالإنعكاسات المترتّبة على جائحة COVID-19 وانفجار مرفأ بروت على ديناميات النزاع وإتّجاهات بناء السام وأعمال بناء السام في لبنان.

اقرأ التقرير بالّلغة العربيّة

اقرأ التقرير بالّلغة الانجليزيّة

Envisioning and contesting a new Lebanon?

Actors, issues and dynamics following the October protests

This report provides an analysis that captures a snapshot of the time between October 2019 and February 2020 in Lebanon.

It presents a summary of the main causes of tensions associated with perceptions and experiences of key social groups and political actors, their relationships and underlying dynamics that could present entry points for engagement and deepen understanding of evolving dynamics following the nationwide protests that began in October 2019. The analysis was developed with the aim of supporting organisations in planning and designing peacebuilding and development interventions in the aftermath of these protests.

The data was collected and analysed before two major events hit Lebanon: the coronavirus disease (COVID-19) pandemic and the subsequent lockdown measures starting on 15 March; and the massive explosion in Beirut Port on 4 August. Both developments have had extensive ramifications on the context in the country and significant implications for the outlooks presented in the analysis and for peacebuilding overall.

Given the timing of the data collection, these two major developments are not explored in this report. Conditions are changing rapidly, dynamics are evolving and new risks are emerging. At the same time, opportunities to support community-based initiatives and solidarity efforts, (re)build social ties and support reform are also unfolding. As such, the issues and dynamics presented in this report are still relevant today.

In light of this, it is useful to view this report as an analysis of how longstanding and underlying political, economic, social and environmental issues have fed into emerging dynamics that have evolved since October 2019, shaping and informing the new context.

This report will be followed by an updated context analysis that builds on and further develops some of the key findings in this research and examines the implications of the COVID-19 pandemic and the Beirut Port explosion on conflict dynamics, peacebuilding trends and peacebuilding work in Lebanon.

Read the report in English

Read the report in Arabic