التاريخ

أُسِّست منظمة إنترناشونال ألرت في العام 1986 لمساعدة الناس على إيجاد حلول سلميّة للنزاع.

في تلك الحقبة، راح عدد النزاعات يتضاءل بين البلدان في حين ازداد عددها داخل هذه البلدان ازدياداً مقلقاً. وقد كانت هذه النزاعات تقوّض التنمية وتؤدي إلى انتهاكات جسيمة لحقوق الإنسان. فلم يكُنْ تحديد الإساءات الفردية لحقوق الإنسان وتسليط الضوء عليها كافياً؛ كانت الحاجة ماسّة لنهج مختلف. وكان من رحم هذه الحاجة المُلحّة أنْ وُلدت منظمة إنترناشونال ألرت.

ففي العام 1985، أُسِّس المنتدى الدولي الدائم حول النزاع العرقي والتنمية وحقوق الإنسان SIFEC بهدف معالجة قضية النزاعات الداخلية وتنبيه الحكومات والعالم على الأزمات الناشئة. في العام التالي، اندمج منتدى SIFEC مع منظمة أخرى، ألا وهي منظمة إنترناشونال ألرت لمكافحة الإبادة والمجازر، ومعاً أصبحا المؤسسة الخيرية التي نعرفها اليوم.

وفي العام 1986، عيّنا أول مجلس أمناء وأول أمين عام للمنظمة وهو مارتن إينالز. وكان مارتن الأمين السابق لمنظمة العفو الدولية ومؤسس منظمة المادة 19 ورائداً في حركة حقوق الإنسان. وقد شغل منصب أميننا العام، ولفترة من الفترات، كان الموظف الوحيد بدوام كامل، وذلك من العام 1986 حتّى العام 1990. وكان بفضل طاقته ومثله ورؤياه أن أصبحنا المنظمة التي نحن عليها اليوم.

نساعد الناس حالياً على إيجاد حلول سلمية للنزاع القائم في أكثر من 30 بلداً حول العالم، مرتكزين على عملنا السابق في سريلانكا وأوغندا والفيليبين. ونحن واحدة من منظمات بناء السلام الرئيسة في العالم.

نحن نشكر كلّ مَنْ دعمنا على مرّ السنين.

History

International Alert was founded in 1986 to help people find peaceful solutions to conflict.

At that time, the number of conflicts between countries was decreasing, but there was an alarming increase in the number of conflicts within countries. Both types of conflict were undermining development and leading to gross violations of human rights. Identifying and highlighting individual abuses of human rights was not enough; a different approach was desperately needed. It was out of this urgency that International Alert was born.

In 1985 the Standing International Forum on Ethnic Conflict, Development and Human Rights (SIFEC) was founded with the purpose of addressing the issue of conflict and to alert governments and the world to developing crises. The following year, SIFEC merged with another organisation, International Alert on Genocide and Massacres, to become the charity we know today.

In 1986 we named our first Board of Trustees as well as Secretary General, Martin Ennals. Martin was the former Secretary General of Amnesty International and founder of Article 19, and a pioneer of the human rights movement. He served as our Secretary General – and for a time our only full-time member of staff – from 1986–1990. It is thanks in no small part to his energy, inspiration and vision that we have become the organisation that we are today.

Building on our early work in Sri Lanka, Uganda and the Philippines, we now help people find peaceful solutions to conflict in over 30 countries around the world and are one of the world’s leading peacebuilding organisations.

Thank you to everyone who has supported us over the years.